Modern Steam

AN ECONOMIC AND ENVIRONMENTAL ALTERNATIVE TO DIESEL TRACTION

BENEFITS OF MODERN STEAM

One man operation for steam locomotives

Remote-controlled steam engines for ships

Light-oil firing with clean and spark free combustion

High thermal efficiency of engine and boiler

Modular concept

Modern manufacturing allows for exchangeable parts

Latest bearing technology reduces maintenance and protects the environment

Electric preheating device enables unattended heating up of steam boilers

 

Learn more about Modern Steam by clicking the buttons below

news and information

Further Application of 52 8055's Technology

6 November 2014

The Austrian Federal Railways have placed another order for the delivery of further sets of roller bearing axles to modernize the remaining snow ploughs previously equipped with plain bearings. The production is already in process. The first delivery of roller bearing axles dates back to 2009.

More...

Rhaetian Railway G 3/4 No. 11 "Heidi" back in Service after an extensive Overhaul

16 July 2014

On Friday, July 11, 2014 the 2-6-0 tank engine G 3/4 No.11 successfully moved under its own steam following an extensive overhaul and modernization. This metre gauge locomotive was built in 1902 by the Swiss Locomotive & Machine Works SLM in Winterthur. The rebuilding and modernization was a joint venture ..

More...

FIRELESS TECHNOLOGY FOR FERRYS

11 June 2014

Up to now the fireless technology has only be used for shunting locomotives. Thanks to the enormous storage capacity of hot water under pressure, the simple and extremely reliable technology can be envisaged for other applications as well. Following the results of previous general study on behalf of the Swiss Department of Energy BFE, a detailed study for ferry operation on fireless steam will now be undertaken.

More...

ALTERNATIVE ENERGY FOR SHUNTING, SUBURBAN TRAFFIC, COMMERCIAL VEHICLES AND FERRIES

11 October 2013

Worldwide, oil products dominate transport to 99%. This enormous dependence is dangerous. The globalised production needs cheap transport. If the oil prize increases drastically, the system becomes unstable. Who knows how long the oil prize will remain stable? It would be wise to look for alternatives now.

More...

PRESENTATION OF DLM’S FIRELESS LOCOMOTIVES AT SCHAFFHAUSEN

2 November 2012

Friday, September 7 saw intensive shunting operation by the fireless locomotives of DLM at Schaffhausen's SBB station. The demonstration for interested customers included re-charging of steam at the nearby brewery. For logistic reasons, DLMs own steam fleet was being shunted around instead of the usual goods waggons.

More...

New Trainguard System ETM-S for 52 8055

20 April 2012

On April 19, 2012, SBB Works Biel and DLM commissioned the new trainguard system ETM-S on 52 8055 at Schaffhausen. The previous trainguard system named Integra is gradually being replaced by the newer ETM-S on all Swiss standard gauge lines. All functions have been tested and worked straight away.

More...

STEAM ENGINE REVIVAL: HEAT AND POWER GENERATION WITH LOCAL BIOMASS

24 January 2012

With reference to a previous article in the chapter "Stationary Engines" we are pleased to announce the successful recomissioning of the said steam engine (Esterer 1606/1954). The steam engine is generating electric power and heat entirely form locally produced wood chips and china grass, a mixture of which is being used as fuel.

More...

Demonstration of Fireless Locomotives creates big Interest

28 October 2010

DLM's newly purchased and partly modernised fireless locomotives were presented to interested possible customers as well as to the press on October 26 and 27. It was convincingly demonstrated how easy and fast the charging of fireless locomotives is. A stationary boiler of the Falken brewery was used.

More...

MODERNIZING SNOW PLOUGHS, PRODUCTION OF FURTHER 20 UNITS

29 March 2010

Test, approval and transfer trips were done in one go from Knittelfeld via Selzthal to Bischofshofen. There was not much snow, but it was freezingly cold. Foto: Roger Waller, 21.12.2009 In the mean time production of the further 20 roller bearing wheelsets has begun.

More...

STAY INFORMED

LATEST PROJECTS, INTERESTING NEWS AND MORE

RhB_Club 1889_G 3_4 Nr.11 Heidi_2019-09-11_bei Zernez_Foto Georg Trüb_1600Hero_Roger_Edit_

Modern Steam

Eine wirtschaftliche und umweltfreundliche Alternative zur Dieseltraktion

Vorteile von modern steam

Einmannbetrieb für Dampflokomotiven

Fernbediente Dampfmaschinen für Schiffe

Leichtölfeuerung mit rauch- und funkenfreier Verbrennung

Vollisolation von Kessel, Dampfmaschine und Leitungen

Modulares Konzept

Moderne Fabrikationstechnik erlaubt austauschbare Teile

Rollenlager reduzieren den Unterhalt und schonen die Umwelt

Elektrisches Vorheizgerät für sofortige Einsatzbereitschaft

 

Für weitere Informationen zu Modern Steam bitte unten klicken

neuigkeiten und Informationen

Alle Klimaschneepflüge der ÖBB sind modernisiert

19 Februar 2015

Die umfassende Modernisierung der 22 Klimaschneepflüge der Österreichischen Bundesbahnen ist mit der Lieferung von weiteren Rollenlager-Radsätzen der DLM erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Wie im Bild ersichtlich sind die Schneepflüge nicht selbstfahrend, sondern werden von elektrischen oder thermischen Lokomotiven gestossen. Die Schneeräumung sowohl…

Mehr...

Technik der 52 8055 verbreitet sich

6 November 2014

Die Österreichischen Bundesbahnen erteilten der DLM einen weiteren Auftrag zur Lieferung von Rollenlager-Radsätzen für ihre Schneepflüge. Die Produktion hat bereits begonnen. Die erste Lieferung erfolgte 2009. „Ihr Produkt ist hervorragend, wir hatten bisher keinerlei Reparaturen“. Das war bei den früheren…

Mehr...

RhB G 3/4 Nr. 11 „Heidi“ wieder in Betrieb

16 Juli 2014

Am Freitag, den 11. Juli 2014 bewegte sich die vollständig revidierte und teilweise modernisierte G 3/4 Nr. 11 erstmals wieder mit eigener Kraft. Die 1902 von der SLM gebaute Meterspur-Dampflokomotive ist seit ihrem Auftritt im gleichnamigen Film als „Heidi“ bekannt.…

Mehr...

Speichertechnik für Fähren

11 Juni 2014

Im Transport wird die Speichertechnik bisher einzig bei Rangierlokomotiven angewendet. Wegen der grossen Speicherkapazität und der einfachen, robusten und wirtschaftlichen Betriebsweise eignet sich die Dampfspeichertechnik, eigentlich eine Heisswasserbatterie, auch für andere im Werk- oder Nahverkehr eingesetzte Verkehrsmittel. Darauf haben wir…

Mehr...

Alternativenergie für Rangierbetrieb, Nahverkehr, Nutzfahrzeuge und Fähren

11 Oktober 2013

Erdölprodukte dominieren den Transportsektor weltweit zu 99%, in der Schweiz zu 95%. Diese einseitige Abhängikeit ist gefährlich. Die Globalisierung der Produktion erfordert einwandfrei funktionierende, billige Transportketten. Würde sich der Ölpreis drastisch erhöhen, geriete das System ins Wanken. Wer weiss, ob…

Mehr...

Vorführungen der DLM-Speicherlokomotiven in Schaffhausen

2 November 2012

Am Freitag, den 7. September fanden im SBB-Bahnhof Schaffhausen intensive Rangierfahrten mit den Speicherlokomotiven der DLM statt. Auch das einfache Nachladen des Dampfes wurde den interessierten Kunden gezeigt. Anstelle von Güterwagen haben wir die DLM-eigenen Fahrzeuge umgestellt. Die Speicherlokomotive FLC 03 160 auf dem…

Mehr...

Einbau der neuen Zugsicherung ETM-S bei der 52 8055

20 April 2012

Das SBB-Industriewerk Biel hat unsere 52 8055 kürzlich in Zusammenarbeit mit der DLM im Depot Schaffhausen mit dem ETM-S ausgerüstet. Zusätzlich wurde die Printplatte im LIX-Kasten ausgetauscht. Gestern am 19. April 2012 fanden in Schaffhausen die Inbetriebnahme und die Funktionsprüfungen…

Mehr...

Lokomobil der Elztäler Mineral in Betrieb: Strom- und Wärmeproduktion mit lokaler Biomasse

24 Januar 2012

Das unter „Referenzen Dampfmaschinen/-autos“ erwähnte Lokomobil (Esterer 1606/1954) ist seit dem Herbst 2011 wieder täglich erfolgreich im kommerziellen Betrieb. Nach dem Motto „mit bewährter, modernisierter Technik in die Zukunft“ produziert das Lokomobil mit lokaler Biomasse Strom und Wärme. Der Brennstoff besteht aus einer…

Mehr...

Grosses Interesse an der Speichertechnik

28 Oktober 2010

Die DLM präsentierte am 26. und 27. Oktober die Dampfspeichertechnik anhand zweier Speicherlokomotiven, welche die Gäste in einem Sonderzug vom Bahnhof Schaffhausen zur Brauerei Falken, wo das Laden der feuerlosen Lokomotiven mit Dampf aus dem stationären Kessel demonstriert wurde. Der…

Mehr...

BLEIBEN SIE INFORMIERT

AKTUELLE PROJEKTE, INTERESSANTE NEUIGKEITEN UND MEHR

RhB_Club 1889_G 3_4 Nr.11 Heidi_2019-09-11_bei Zernez_Foto Georg Trüb_1600Hero_Roger_Edit_